Home |  Contact Us
News Category:  Club News

Walton Gardens Cross Country Results | 30th September 2017
Last edited: Wednesday October 4th 2017
Here's a summary of results from the first round of the Warrington Athletic Club Schools Cross Country League that took place on Saturday 30th September at Walton Hall Gardens, with around 350 runners taking part.

The day started with the Primary Girls race with 23 schools represented and 17 completing teams. The race was won by Eva Karalius (Broomfields) in 5 minutes 28 seconds with Rhiannon Wilkes (St Wilfrid's) one second behind and 3rd place going to Harriet Bell (Broomfields) in 5 minutes 34 seconds. The team race was won by St Wilfrid's (56 points) from Broomfields (62 points) and St Monica's (86 points).

The Primary Boys race was won by Noah Kaariainen (Oughtrington) in 6 minutes 52 seconds from Jack Marwood (Ravenbank) 6 minutes 53 seconds and Zac Chamun (Chapelford) 7 minutes 02 seconds.The team race was won by Ravenbank (39 points) from St Monica's (52 points) and Moore (72 points).

In the Year 7 Girls Molly Wormald (Great Sankey) won the race, leading from the start, in 7 minutes 17 seconds. Emily Entwistle (Bridgewater) was second with 7 minutes 26 seconds and Lucie Davies (Kings) third in 7 minutes 41 seconds. Great Sankey won the team race with 25 points from Bridgewater on 33 points.

In the year 7 Boys race Erik Marshall (Lymm) took the lead from the start and was a comfortable winner in 10 minutes 16 seconds with Marcus Trevithick (Bridgewater) second in 11 minutes 09 seconds and Patrick Squires (Great Sankey) third in 11 minutes 33 seconds. In the team race Great Sankey won with 20 points from Bridgewater on 34 points.

In the 'year 8-11' Girls race Orla Gregory (Cardinal Newman) was an excellent winner of the year 8/9 category, in a time of 10 minutes 44 seconds. Jess Connolly (Bridgewater) was second in 11 minutes 11 seconds and Eva Ferris (Lymm) third in 11 minutes 31 seconds. In the year 10/11 category Lucy Baxter (Bridgewater) won in 10 minutes 51 seconds with Olivia Baker (Boteler) second in 11 minutes 16 seconds and Rebecca Hardwick third in 12 minutes 02 seconds. Bridgewater were the only team to complete in the year 8/9 with 34 points and no teams completed in the year 10/11 race.

In the Boys 'year 8 to 11' race George Hill (Great Sankey) was the winner of the year 10/11 category from team mates Dylan Squires and Joe Weston with times of 9 minutes 17 seconds, 9 minutes 22 seconds and 9 minutes 50 seconds respectively. In the year 8/9 category Ewan MacNab won comfortably in 10 minutes 30 seconds with Dylan Woodroffe (Great Sankey) second in 10 minutes 52 seconds and Hayden Arless (Great Sankey) third in 10 minutes 56 seconds. Great Sankey were the only complete team in the year 8/9 race with 15 points while no teams completed in the year 10/11 race.

Thank you to everyone that volunteered to help coordinate this event.

(Click here for results. Unfortunately, due to sheer numbers, not all times are available for some of the primary girls & boys results.)