Home |  Contact Us
News Category:  Club News

Warrington Athletic Club School Cross Country League Walton Hall and Gardens 18th November 2017
Last edited: Monday November 20th 2017
The second round of the Warrington Athletic Club School Cross Country League took place at Walton Hall and Gardens on Saturday 18th November with over 370 runners taking part and over 300 of these from the Primary Schools.
The first race was the Primary Girls where the closest finish of the day occurred with Eva Karalius (Broomfields) just holding off Rhiannon Wilkes (St Wilfrid�s) with both girls recording 5 minutes 32 seconds and Corin Smith (St Wilfrid�s) only 2 seconds behind in 3rd place.St Monica�s won the team race on 96 points with St Wilfrid�s on 110 points and Ravenbank on 111points.163 runners finished the race which is a record turnout.
In the Primary Boys race Noah Kaariainen (Oughtrington) repeated his win from the first race with 6 minutes 54 seconds with Jack Marwood (Ravenbank) 2nd on 7 minutes 04 seconds and Zak Chamun (Chapelford Village) 3rd on 7 minutes 06 seconds.The team race was won by Ravenbank on 44 points with St Monica�s on 68 points and St Peter's on 91 points.
In the Year 7 Girls race Molly Wormald (Great Sankey) had a clear win coming away in the second half of the race to record 7 minutes 21 seconds with Emily Entwistle (Bridgewater) 2nd in 7 minutes 34 seconds and Lucie Davies 3rd in 7 minutes 58 seconds.The team race was won by Great Sankey on 18 points with King�s Leadership 2nd on 31 points and Bridgewater 3rd on 36 points.
In Year 7 Boys race Erik Marshall (Lymm) was a runaway winner recording 10 minutes 16 seconds to have the largest winning margin of the day with Marcus Trevithick (Bridgewater) 2nd in 11 minutes 08 seconds and Ben Pucill (Great sankey) 3rd in 11 minutes 28 seconds.Only two teams completed with Great Sankey winning with 20 points from Bridgewater on 28 points.
In the Girls race for years 8 to 11 Orla Gregory (Cardinal Newman-year 8/9) was an excellent winner in 10 minutes 49 seconds from Olivia Baker (Boteler-year 10/11) in 11 minutes 27 seconds with Jess Connolly (Bridgewater-year 8/9)in 3rd in 11 minutes 29 seconds.Maisie Bell was 3rd year 8/9 to finish in 11 minutes 36 seconds while Lucy Baxter (Bridgewater) 11 minutes 53 seconds and Rebecca Hardwick (Great Sankey) 13 minutes 00 seconds being 2nd and 3rd year 10/11.Bridgewater were the only team to complete in the year 8/9 on 19 points while Great Sankey were also the only complete team in year 10/11 on 18 points.
In the Boys years 8 to 11 George Hill (Great Sankey-year 10/11) won a close race from teammate Dylan Squires (year 10/11) recording 9 minutes 31 seconds to 9 minutes 34 seconds.Euan McNab (Helsby-year 8/9) was third in 10 minutes 51 seconds.In the year 8/9 race Ethan Leader and Ben Sharrocks (Great Sankey) were 2nd and 3rd recording 11 minutes 12 seconds and 11 minutes 27 seconds respectively while Joe Weston (Great Sankey) was 3rd year 10/11.Great Sankey were the only complete team in the year 8/9 team race on 14 points while no teams completed in year 10/11.