Home |  Contact Us
News Category:  Club News

Warrington Schools Cross Country League I 9th December 2017
Last edited: Sunday December 10th 2017

The final round of the Warrington Athletic Club School Cross Country League took place on Saturday 9th December at Walton Hall and Gardens, in at times heavy snow or sleet making the course more difficult and heavy underfoot.

In the Primary Girls race Eva Karalius (Broomfields) completed a third win in the series with a time of 5 minutes 58 seconds with Corin Smith (St Wilfrid's) getting the better this time of her teammate Rhiannon Wilkes with 6 minutes 01 seconds to 6 minutes 06 seconds.Corin and Rhiannon led St Wilfrids (59) to team victory on the day from St Monica's (75) and St Peter's (99).In the overall League competition, Eva won with 3 points from Rhiannon 7 points and Corin 11 points while Rhiannon and Corin led St Wilfrids (225 points) to overall team victory and they became the inaugural winners of the Suzanne Rigg Trophy from St Monica's (257 points) and St Peter's (287 points).

In the Primary Boys race Jack Marwood (Ravenbank) got the better of Noah Kaariainen (Oughtrington) for the first time in the series with a time of 7 minutes 19 seconds to 7 minutes 36 seconds with Benedict Kennedy (St Monica's) 3rd in 7 minutes 39 seconds.Ravenbank ran out team winners with 33 points from St Monica's (43 points) and Oughtrington 93 points. In the overall League competition, Noah Kaariainen won with 4 points with Jack Marwood second on 5 points and Zak Chamun (Chapelford Village) third on 13 points. In the overall Team result Ravenbank took the title with 116 points to win the Chris Vose Trophy from St Monicas (163 points) and Oughtrington 275 (points).

In the Minor Girls race Molly Wormald (Great Sankey) won in 8 minutes 09 seconds to record her third win of the series from Emily Entwistle (Bridgewater) 8 minutes 11 seconds and Lucie Davies (Kings Leadership) 8 minutes 16 seconds.On the Day Kings Leadership won the team race on 20 points from Great Sankey 27 points and Bridgewater 32 points.In the overall League competition, Molly ran out the winner with 3 points from Emily 6 points and Lucie 9 points while in the team event Great Sankey were the overall winners on 70 points from Bridgewater 101 points and Kings Leadership 92 points but having only had three runners in the first race.

In the Minor Boys race Erik Marshall (Lymm) was for the third time a comfortable winner in 11 minutes 13 seconds, with Jacob Cox (Kings Leadership)second in 12 minutes 02 seconds and Marcus Trevithick (Bridgewater) third in 12 minutes 07 seconds. Great Sankey won the team race as the only complete team on 12 points.In the overall League competition, Erik took the title on 3 points from Marcus 7 points with Ben Pucill (Great Sankey) third on 11 points, while Great Sankey were the winning team with 63 points from Bridgewater on 93 points.

In the Junior Girls race Orla Gregory (Cardinal Newman) was again the winner for the third time in 11 minutes 38 seconds from Eva Ferris (Lymm) in 12 minutes 05 seconds and Jess Connolly (Bridgewater) in 12 minutes 23 seconds. The Overall title was won by Orla on 3 points from Jess on 7 points and Eva on 9 points.Great Sankey were the overall team winners.

In the Junior Boys race Ewan McNab (Helsby) was the winner for the third time in 11 minutes 43 seconds from Ethan Leader (Great Sankey) in 12 minutes 14 seconds and Ben Sharrocks (Great Sankey) in 12 minutes 27 seconds.In the overall event ewan was a comfortable winner on 3 points from Ben on 10 points and Daniel Loeb (Great Sankey third on 17 points while Great Sankey were the only complete team on the day with 12 points and also won the overall title on 41 points.

In the Intermediate Girls race Olivia Baker Sir Thomas Boteler) was the winner with 11 minutes 59 seconds from Lucy Baxter (Bridgewater) on 12 minutes 06 seconds and Rebecca Hardwicke (Great Sankey)14 minutes 08 seconds.Overall the title went to Olivia on 4 points from Lucy on 5 points and Rebecca on 9 points.In the team event Great Sankey were the only complete team on the day and also won the overall title.

In the Intermediate Boys race George Hill and Dylan Squires (Great Sankey) again fought out the race with George winning in 10 minutes 18 seconds from Dylan in 10 minutes 44 seconds while Lee Davies (Green Lane) made his debut in the race in third place in 22 minutes 07 seconds.